Skip to Main Content U.S. Department of Energy
Migration09 Conference

Migration '09 Visa Request

International Visitors & VISA Information

Visa Waviver Countries

Citizens of countries participating in the Visa Waiver Program do not need to apply for visas to attend the Conference. You may enter the United States using just your passports and your Conference Registration Notice. At the port of entry into the U.S, please request to be given a "Visa Waiver for Business" (WB) status. That will allow you to stay in the U.S. for the length of the Conference.

IMPORTANT: Effective January 12, 2009, all Visa Waiver travelers will be required to obtain an authorization via ESTA before traveling to the United States. See the Electronic System for Travel Authorization web site for more information.

The Visa Waiver countries are:

Andorra Iceland Norway
Australia Ireland Portugal
Austria Italy San Marino
Belgium Japan Singapore
Brunei Latvia Slovakia
Czech Republic Liechtenstein Slovenia
Denmark Lithuania South Korea
Estonia Luxemburg Spain
Finland Malta Sweden
France Monaco Switzerland
Germany The Netherlands United Kingdom
Hungary New Zealand


Non-Visa Waiver Countries

Citizens of countries not participating in the Visa Waiver Program will need to request a Business (B-1) visa at the nearest U.S. Consulate. Please present at the Consulate your Conference Registration Notice, along with your valid passport. We urge you to do this EARLY, as there are often delays in this process. Official letters of invitation (without financial commitment) to help overcome administrative difficulties in some countries can be sent upon request. Contact .


Although Canada is not a Visa Waiver country, Canadian citizens do not need to apply for visas at the U.S. Consulate. Citizens of Canada may enter the country using just their passports, along with their Conference Registration Notice. Please request at the port of entry status as a Visitor for Business (B-1).



Migration 09